General information

“Armbiotechnology” Scientific and Production Center NAS RA, state non-profit organization (“Armbiotechnology” SPC SNPO NAS RA), was established by the RA Government Decision in 2010 as a result of merging the “Scientific Research Institute of Biotechnology” CJSC and “Center of Microbiology and Microbial Depository” NAS RA. It is the legal successor of the joint organizations.
“Institute of Biotechnology”, “Institute of Microbiology” and “Center of Microbial Depository” are institutions of the SPC “Armbiotechnology” NAS RA.
The following Associations are established and operate in the Center: “Biotechnological Association of Armenia” (BAA, 2007) and “Armenian Microbiological Association” (AMA, 2009). The latter exercising its full membership rights is included into the Federation of European Microbiological Societies (FEMS).
The Center has 127 researchers including 1 Academician of NAS RA, 1 Corresponding Member of NAS RA, 8 Doctors of Sciences and 54 Candidates of Sciences.